Elis Valente circusnext - European Circus Label
© Flavia Andolfi

Elis Valente

Tension

Pablo Panailillo · Nicolas Palma · Cristobal Espoz
Spain
Dance, installation

BIO / Born in Argentina, Elis Valente trained as a circus artist with a primary focus on aerial acrobatics. She earned a degree as a professor of body expression-dance and complemented her training with various other movement arts. Her professional dedication revolves around aerial disciplines and scenography, which contribute to shaping her artistic language. 

She participated as a performer in the dance group DanzAbismal, a collective of dancers dedicated to researching, experimenting, and producing performative interventions in unconventional spaces. 

She co-founded Compañía Anexo23 with Meme Canziani. Together, as directors and performers, they created the piece PVC (C2H3Cl)n, which was showcased in many venues across Buenos Aires. 

Currently, she leads her own company and is focused on the creation of Tension. 

THE PROJECT / Tension is a contemporary circus performance intended for a young adult audience, estimated to last approximately 55 minutes. It incorporates aerial technique, aerial acrobatics, dance, and stage design. 

It represents the fusion of Elis Valente’s obsessions with geometric structures, symmetrical spaces, plastics, chaos, and transformation. The performer manipulates 40-meter-long elastic bands with high elasticity, capable of instantly returning to their natural state. 

It’s an intimate space where discomfort resides, a large wall of latex that divides inside from outside. Domination, submission, subjugation. Pleasure to pain and displeasure to aggression. The exposure of fragility struggling to feel secure. 

The body is in contact with a hostile object that damages the skin, becomes skin. It could be another body, manipulating and sniffing the performer’s breath. Bodies conversing about their limits, playing with the abyss: how much pain can one endure? How much tension can we withstand? “I resist!” But at any moment, it could break.

Elis Valente circusnext - European Circus Label
© Flavia Andolfi

Elis Valente

Tension

Pablo Panailillo · Nicolas Palma · Cristobal Espoz
Espagne
Acrobatie aérienne, techniques aériennes, danse, installation

BIO / Née en Argentine, Elis Valente s’est formée en tant qu’artiste de cirque avec une spécialisation dans les acrobaties aériennes. Elle a obtenu un diplôme en tant que professeur d’expression corporelle-danse et a complété sa formation avec l’apprentissage de plusieurs autres arts du mouvement. Elle se concentre principalement sur les disciplines aériennes et la scénographie, éléments les plus importants de son langage artistique. 

Elle a été interprète au sein du groupe de danse DanzAbismal, un collectif de danseurs dédié à la recherche, à l’expérimentation et à la production d’interventions performatives dans des espaces non conventionnels. 

Elle a cofondé Compañía Anexo23 avec Meme Canziani. Ensemble, en tant que directrices et interprètes, elles ont créé la pièce PVC (C2H3Cl)n, qui a été présentée dans plusieurs lieux à Buenos Aires. 

Actuellement, elle dirige sa propre compagnie et se concentre sur la création de Tension.

LA CRÉATION /Tension est un spectacle de cirque contemporain destiné à un public de jeunes adultes, d’une durée estimée à environ 55 minutes. Il intègre des techniques aériennes, de l’acrobatie aérienne, de la danse et un travail particulier sur la scénographie. 

Tension représente la fusion des obsessions d’Elis Valente pour les structures géométriques, les espaces symétriques, les matières plastiques, le chaos et la transformation. L’artiste manipule des élastiques de 40 mètres de long capables de revenir instantanément à leur forme naturelle. 

C’est un espace intime où réside l’inconfort, un grand mur de latex qui sépare l’intérieur de l’extérieur. Domination, soumission, assujettissement. Le plaisir se transforme en douleur et la douleur en agression. Tension, c’est la mise à nu de la fragilité qui lutte pour se sentir en sécurité. 

Le corps est en contact avec un objet hostile qui abîme la peau, devient peau. Il peut s’agir d’un autre corps, qui manipule et respire le souffle de l’interprète. Des corps qui dialoguent sur leurs limites, qui jouent avec l’abîme : jusqu’où peut-on supporter la douleur ? Quelle est la tension que l’on peut supporter ? “Je résiste !” Mais à tout moment, ça peut casser.