Collectif Sismique circusnext - European Circus Label
© Tomás Amorim

Collectif Sismique

IGNIS

Nicolas Fraiseau
France
Chinese pole, clown, fire manipulation

BIO / Nicolas Fraiseau is Franco-Italian artist specialized in Chinese pole who graduated from CNAC in 2016. Since 2014, he has been working as a performer with various French companies. He joined Compagnie Les Hommes Penchés in 2018 to create his first solo Instable in collaboration with Christophe Huysman. 

He is a recipient of the grant «Aide à l’écriture cirque SACD-Beaumarchais» for Instable and of the European exchange and research program in circus arts Circus Without Circus in 2021.  

Nicolas is interested in clowning, practices slam and has developed a strong taste for improvisation and risk-taking. Since 2020, he collaborates with Collectif Sismique to bring his creations to the stage. 

THE PROJECT / IGNIS is a solo Nicolas has been dreaming of for a long time. It is a circus project under a big top based on pyrotechnics, fire, clowning and dance. The idea is to treat fire as the subject of a show and to develop a new aesthetic based on it: not that of the grandiose and spectacular, but rather that of the tiny and metaphorical.  

At the core of this aspiration is the exploration of diverse contrasts generated by flames, encompassing candles, embers, costume burning, and flying lanterns. This fiery aesthetic will tap into the poetics of the archaic and nostalgic, employing the ceremonial aspects of ritual to reestablish an intimate connection with the audience.

Collectif Sismique circusnext - European Circus Label
© Tomás Amorim

Collectif Sismique

IGNIS

Nicolas Fraiseau
France
Mât chinois, clown, manipulation du feu

BIO / Nicolas Fraiseau est un artiste franco-italien spécialisé dans le mât chinois, diplômé du CNAC en 2016. Depuis 2014, il travaille en tant qu’interprète avec différentes compagnies françaises. Il rejoint la Compagnie Les Hommes Penchés en 2018 pour créer Instable, son premier solo, en collaboration avec Christophe Huysman. 

Il est bénéficiaire de la bourse “Aide à l’écriture cirque SACD-Beaumarchais” pour Instable et du programme européen d’échange et de recherche en arts du cirque Circus Without Circus en 2021.  

Nicolas s’intéresse au clown, pratique le slam et a développé un goût prononcé pour l’improvisation et la prise de risque. Depuis 2020, il collabore avec le Collectif Sismique pour faire exister ses créations sur scène.

LA CRÉATION / IGNIS est un solo dont Nicolas rêve depuis longtemps. Il s’agit d’un projet de cirque sous chapiteau basé sur la pyrotechnie, le feu, le clown et la danse. L’idée est de traiter le feu comme le thème principal du spectacle et d’en développer une nouvelle esthétique : non pas celle du grandiose et du spectaculaire, mais plutôt celle du minuscule et du métaphorique.  

Au cœur de cette aspiration se trouve l’exploration des divers contrastes générés par les flammes, qu’il s’agisse de bougies, de braises, de costumes en feu ou de lanternes volantes. Cette esthétique ardente puisera dans la poétique de l’archaïque et de la nostalgie, utilisant les aspects cérémoniels du rituel pour rétablir une connexion intime avec le public.